Good Friday

Last night at The Place they showed “The Passion of the Christ”.  Despite owning the DVD, I had not yet seen it.  I had heard so much about it that I wanted to wait until I was ready to see it.  I decided to last night.   I’m sure most of you have seen it by now.  It’s been three years since its theatrical release.  But because the crowd at The Place comes from such diverse backgrounds I wasn’t the only one who was watching for the first time.  I think everyone in attendance was moved.  The Lebanese guy sitting next to me wiped away more than a few tears and the British girl on the other side didn’t move for a few minutes after it finished, sitting in quiet reflection.  They were both believers, but there were also nonbelievers there.  Please pray that the message of Christ will sink in.  As far as my take on the movie, it was bloody to the point of distraction, but still impacting.

This afternoon, we were at the Anglican service.  Chris was one of a number of people doing dramatic readings from characters from the passion.  He was Judas.  He did a great job despite having been very ill the last couple of days.  You can read the transcript here: judas.doc  There was also Peter, Mary Magdalene, a street vendor, a water carrier, Mary and others.

 Tonight we will go with Rick and his kids to an Orthodox church in a village to experience Good Friday in yet another denomination.  

8 Responses to “Good Friday”


  1. 1 Josh Hawkins April 7, 2007 at 2:54 am

    I wish we could’ve been there for it. It sounds awesome. Someday!

  2. 3 Tara April 9, 2007 at 3:35 am

    I saw Passion when it first came out. I cried – hard – through many parts of it. It was very violent and bloody, but the message was impactful and stayed with me for weeks.

  3. 4 derk burrus April 10, 2007 at 1:01 pm

    I love the Passion. It is my favorite movie. I watch it, in parts, by myself, because i admire the scenes. The agony in the garden, was so well done.
    I still want to see the Gospel of St John, which is supposed to be really great. It came out at the same time as the passion, but it didnt have enought controversy, so it was overlooked.

    I also liked Therese, a small budget local movie about St, Therese the little flower, who died when she was only 24. She wrote my favorite autobiography of all time—A story of a soul. She became a doctor of the catholic church shortly after her death, for her profound, simple, and practical understanding of Grace, even though she had only read one book, besides the Bible, in her life.

  4. 5 Chris & DeAnn April 10, 2007 at 2:25 pm

    Derk,

    I have not seen the Passion yet. It appears that I am one of the few left in the Western Hemisphere. I have seen parts, like the garden scene, you are right, very powerful. Perhaps soon I will be ready to watch the whole thing.

    I also do really want to see the Gospel of John. I heard it was very well done. John is my favorite as a book.

    Have to see if I can find Therese.

    Chris

  5. 6 derk burrus May 12, 2007 at 7:25 am

    There is another great frame in the passion.
    Its the Scene where pilot has Jesus all “done up” and says,
    “behold the Man.”

    There He is, His legs wobbling.

    you just cant help yourself. Behold the Man.

  6. 7 derk burrus May 12, 2007 at 7:36 am

    Another. The romans tear his clothes.
    cut.
    goto Jesus laying open the cloth from the bread at the last supper.

    Another.
    A brutally beaten Jesus takes up the cross for the first time. He hugs it, lovingly.

    Another.
    Our Thrice Blessed Lady runs to our Lord, like all the times she did when he was a child, and He says, See Mother? I make all things new.

    Another.
    It is Finished. Camera pans down, directly over the crucified Savior. The earth appears colorless, and dry.
    Then a very artistic directorial thing happens, which i wont say. If you blink youll miss it. but its quite poetic and relieving.

    I dont care what people think of Mel. The movie is holy.

  7. 8 Chris & DeAnn May 12, 2007 at 7:45 am

    I will have to watch

    Chris


Leave a Reply

