Grandma Pearl

This morning I received an email from my sister saying to call my parents as soon as possible.  I knew what they would tell me before I called.  My dad’s mom, at 102 years, 8 months and 2 days, had passed away.  I’m so thankful for the two times that I was able to see her and visit with her while we were in the States last year.  We both cried hard when we said our good-byes, both of knowing it was most likely our last, but also hoping that she would continue to defy age and live a couple of more years.  Unfortunately, a few weeks ago she took a turn for the worst.  After having lived for so long, I was thankful that she gave us all an oppurtunity to came to grips with the fact that she wouldn’t live forever and yet didn’t suffer for long.  I’m also thankful that my husband and my children got to know her well and hear the stories of her amazing life.

grandma-pearl.jpg

2 Responses to “Grandma Pearl”


  1. 1 Stephanie White April 23, 2007 at 5:24 am

    Dear DeAnn,
    I’m so sorry to hear aboout your grandma… but I’m thankful that you did have a chance to see her when you were home.

    Thanks so much for your most recent emails — I’m hoping to do a better job of keeping in touch in the coming months.

    Hope you are finding inspiration in your transition to Cypress life. Can’t wait to get the summary on Germany =)
    Be well!

    ps: try this email address… the photos come through better…. swhitemeister@gmail.com

  2. 2 Stephanie White April 23, 2007 at 5:27 am

    oops.. I think I typed “Cypress” (the fwy structure in Oakland, CA!) instead of Cyprus the country… OOOPS!! Hugs =)


Leave a Reply

