Update

Keeping this blog updated has been a little more difficult than we anticipated.  We got behind when I(DeAnn) flew to Bakersfield for a week to be with my family for my grandmother’s memorial service.  Chris had the kids and all his ministry duties while I was away so he just didn’t have the time.  I’ve been back 2 weeks now and in that time it has been almost nonstop action. 

The day after I returned was America Nite at The Place.  Chris put together a power point presentation and we had corn dogs, veggies dipped in ranch dressing dip, brownies and coke.  It was interesting to hear what people from other cultures thought of America. 

On Sunday the 29th, there was a joint service of St. Paul’s and NIC to say farewll to Bishop Clive, the Anglican Bishop for the Middle East and Gulf (Cyprus is part of this diosese.)  The order of service was Anglican, but NIC led some worship.  There was a fellowship lunch with both churches  afterward.

The next day the kids had school pictures, finally.  They were postponed 2 or 3 times before finally taking place.

 Tuesday was a holiday.  May 1st is Labor Day here. We took the opportunity to go to the beach.  The water was as warm as a bathtub compared to California’s.  Even though we used sunscreen, the kids managed to get sunburned.

The next day I went with 2 friends to the British base near Larnaca.  We ate lunch out and spent time visiting and relaxing. Chris met with a Lebanese man he is descipling in the afternoon.

On Thursday, I started my Greek lessons.  This is the first time to learn a language starting at zero and after 15 minutes both my brain and my face hurt.  I managed to get through 1-5.  Today I will tackle 6-10.  One of the women from NIC is my language helper using the materials we learned in PLANTS.  Then it was The Place in the evening.

Friday is youth group and on Saturday Cali and Colson play soccer out at the UN.  Friday night we had Chris and Marcus Dugan (Rick’s youngest sons) over night.  We are blessed at how well our kids get along.  Saturday Ann(English) was over to hang out and Gagan(Indian) was over to use the computer and have Chris help him put together a power point for India Nite.

Sunday was family service at St Paul’s.  Chris and Cami did the reading and Chris had a chalice for communion.  We had to leave the NIC service early so Chris and the kids could make it the airport to catch their flight to Athens.  I had just left the country to go tot the States so it was their turn.  That night was African Worship at NIC.  Unfortunately the camera had dead batteries so I wasn’t able to get any pictures.  It was the sound that was amazing anyway.

Monday was spent on catching up with bookkeeping, laundry, etc.  I had dinner at my friend Ann’s and met a Chinese student.  It was so interesting to hear about her life in China and her plans for her future.  One of the neatest things about living here are the opportunities to learn about other cultures.

Tuesday Rick and I met at the cafe by the museum for our team meeting.  We were joined after a while by a young African man and I had another informative conversation about cultures. (This place would be like Christmas for a cultural anthropologist.)  I had to leave to go to the airport to pick up Chris and the kids. (For those of you that know about my driving, the fact that I drove both home from the airport and back to it again is an adventure in itself.  My arms were numb when I arrived from gripping the stearing wheel so tight!)  We decided that we should go to the beach because we were only 5 minutes away.  No sunburns this time.

Yesterday, it was back to school for the kids and back to sermon prep for Chris.  I go to Bible study Wed. mornings.  Chris plays futsol Wed. evenings.

And now we are back to Thursday.  Chris left this morning for Larnaca for a men’s breakfast where Rick will be speaking.  I need to start some laundry, pick up a package at the post office and prepare for my language lesson.  I’m looking forward to India Nite.  When we lived in Germany I became a big fan of Indian movies and music.

Well, this gives you all an idea of some of the things we do here.  If you have any questions please leave them on the comments.  We would like to keep you all as informed as possible.

7 Responses to “Update”


  1. 1 jennifer May 17, 2007 at 5:12 am

    I think this is your third time to learn a language from zero–English, German and now Greek. You are funny. Sounds like you guys are busier than we are here. I hope to get an email from Cami soon. I haven’t heard from her in a while. Also how are Cali and Cole doing? It has been a while since I first read this “update”. I thought it might be fun to have a blog but now I can see that it must be hard to keep it up to date if you have a busy life. Hope to hear from you soon.

  2. 2 Chris & DeAnn May 17, 2007 at 6:32 am

    I should have said “as an adult”. The older you get the harder it gets to learn a language. I’ve had a couple of oppurtunities presented tome to get even busier. Please pray that I will have wisdom in what to take on and what to say no to. Thanks for leaving a post. I wish everyone that reads our blog would leave a post and then we would know who is “visiting”. -DeAnn

  3. 3 derk May 19, 2007 at 3:48 am

    DeAnne and Chris.
    All I can say is…well…wow.
    totally cool, dude.

    Chris, your a long way from boogie boarding broad beach.
    DeAnne, is this what you pictured when you married the guy who obstinately used to throw butter on my shoes? and wipe boogers on me?

    yeah that’s right. boogers.

  4. 4 Tara May 21, 2007 at 3:12 am

    Boogers, Chris? It’s a good thing you met DeAnn so she could show you some maturity. (ha ha)

    So, DeAnn, I met these two guys hanging over a window…

  5. 5 Tara May 21, 2007 at 3:16 am

    Okay, so I’ll get serious for a moment.

    DeAnn, it was so special to see you when you came back for Grandma’s memorial service. It meant so much to me to see you out at Jennifer’s house, to laugh with you guys about old stories and new stories, and to just learn more about your life in Cyprus. I know it will be a long while before you are back in the States, so I truly valued being with you that afternoon.

    Glad to hear that you are back in the swing of things at home. Hope you are all well and happy. Love to you all.

  6. 6 Chris & DeAnn May 23, 2007 at 7:25 am

    Tara, That time was special to me too. And getting to know Rocklin better was great. He is a really neat kid. (Of course, that doesn’t surprise me since he’s your kid.) I’m so thankful God put us in the same family, so even though there are many miles between us, we are still connected.
    And in reply to you first comment, Chris still enjoys “childish” jokes whereas, I have a more sophisticated sense of humor🙂. I’m sure Curt and Rod would agree. -DeAnn

  7. 7 Tara May 26, 2007 at 12:44 am

    I can’t help it…I’m cracking up!


Leave a Reply

