Robbie Williams

I’m not sure if any of you recognize the name Robbie Williams.  One of the things that we have realized since moving out of the US, is that there is literally a whole other world out there that we were previously unaware of.  We first became aware of Robbie Williams soon after moving to Germany.  He’s very, very popular there but we soon found out that he is huge everywhere, except in the States.  In the UK he is second only to the Beatles in all time popularity.  He can draw a crowd of 100,000 anywhere in Europe and do the same in South Africa, Brazil and then in Singapore.

The video in this post is from his live concert in Knebworth, England a few years ago.  I(DeAnn) chose this particular song in hopes that some of you might have heard it back in the 90s.  Robbie was a member of the boy band Take That and they had a hit with “Back for Good.”  This version expresses more of his personality that the original.  I would be interested to know if anybody had heard of him or what you think of the song.

6 Responses to “Robbie Williams”


  1. 1 Tara May 23, 2007 at 2:54 am

    Yes, I’ve heard of Robbie Williams and knew he was ‘Bobby Big-Time’ in Europe. And yes, I remember this song. We’re not THAT out of the loop here in the US.

  2. 2 Chris & DeAnn May 23, 2007 at 7:14 am

    OK, but you have to realize that you live in Southern California so that gives you an advantage. I actually hated the song when it came out (not my style) but I love this version. Just out curiosity, what are the top 5 songs you are listening to right now? -DeAnn

  3. 3 rickdugan May 23, 2007 at 7:43 pm

    I like RW … but I think you knew that.

  4. 4 Tara May 29, 2007 at 9:56 pm

    Hey, it didn’t look like my reply posted…

    I can’t narrow down top 5 songs, but some bands I’m really into right now are Peter Bjorn and John, Radiohead, Damien Rice, Amy Winehouse, The White Stripes, TV On The Radio, Sia, and Frou Frou.

  5. 5 Chris & DeAnn May 31, 2007 at 8:03 am

    We love The White Stripes. My favorite is “Forever for her (is over for me)”, Cami’s is “Hotel Yorba” and Cali’s is “My Doorbell”. I’m glad my kids like the same music I do. I’ve heard of Damien Rice and Radiohead, but not the others. I think Rick listens to Damien Rice. -DeAnn

  6. 6 Josh and Sarah June 3, 2007 at 9:02 am

    DeAnn,

    I think you’d like Amy Winehouse. Listen to a few samples of hers on iTunes. I’ve only heard one Frou Frou song, but I like it. I’ve been really enjoy Lovedrug and Athlete lately. I’ve recently have really gotten into The Killers for some reason as well. I was introduced to a band called Mr. Bungle the other day that I’ll have to check out some more. Kinda strange stuff… reminds me of watching some nightmare sequence in a film or something, but very cool.

    I spoke at a banquet at Granada Hills tonight. I will be brining the message in the morning. Good church!


Leave a comment