IKEA!!!!!!

Yes, that’s right, IKEA.  Today we went to IKEA.  I’m not sure if that means much to any of you, but it does to our family.  IKEA and our family have a special relationship.  IKEA was our first and most frequent babysitter in Germany.  Nearly half of everything in our house comes from IKEA. 

We were blessed by a friend who works at the new IKEA in Nicosia, by an invitation to Family Day.  We got a 10% discount on everything we bought, but that wasn’t the good part.  The good part was going some place so familiar.  After almost 7 months of new things it was a nice variation.  Even the meatballs tasted the same.

 The store officially opens next week.  We plan on going often.  Not only is it the only place we have found to eat out(even cheaper the giros), but the AC works great!🙂

9 Responses to “IKEA!!!!!!”


  1. 1 Marko September 3, 2007 at 9:52 am

    Ich kenne IKEA!! Das ist wirklich sehr schön. Dieses Jahr war ich im Urlaub in Schweden (Home of IKEA). Also viel Spaß bei IKEA und lasst es euch schmecken.

    Viele Grüße aus Regensburg
    Marko

  2. 2 Chris & DeAnn September 4, 2007 at 7:30 pm

    Marko, hast du IKEA in Schweden besucht?(Oder besichtigt, ich kann nicht erinnen, was richtig ist.) Es ist unglaublich, dass IKEAs in Kanada, USA, Deutschland und sogar Zypern sehen gleich aus.

  3. 3 Marko September 5, 2007 at 2:35 pm

    Ich habe in Schweden IKEA nicht besichtigt. Die sehen auch in Schweden wie in Regensburg aus🙂. Ich habe mir ein paar schwedische Städte und einen Nationalpark angesehen. Stockholm ist wiklich eine sehr schöne Stadt. Das Land ist genau so schön, wie die Moebel.
    Ich habe ja gar nicht gewußt, dass ihr so grosse IKEA-Fans seid. Jetzt habt ihr wieder einen vertrauten Flecken Erde. Ich hofe euch geht es gut und es ist nicht mehr ganz so warm.

    Viele Grüße aus dem verregneten Regensburg
    Marko

  4. 4 Andrea September 6, 2007 at 11:27 pm

    See, I’m here. If I don’t get kicked out of the country we should plan an IKEA day.

  5. 5 Chris & DeAnn September 11, 2007 at 1:31 pm

    Andrea, I just got back from shopping at IKEA again. When you want to go just let me know. I’ll be glad to join you.
    -DeAnn

  6. 6 Andrea September 12, 2007 at 1:53 pm

    How about Monday after work? I have to get some placemats, or otherwise a table cloth. What better place to look than Ikea!

    Oh, and picture frames.

  7. 7 Chris & DeAnn September 12, 2007 at 8:50 pm

    Andrea,
    I bought placemats yesterday. Red ones to match the couch. I should be free but I will get back to you.

    For those of you thinking I’m crazy,
    Until you have lived overseas and everything is very “foreign” you can’t really appreciate what it means to have something so familiar only 20 minutes away. I did notice a difference between the IKEA here and the ones in Germany though. After arriving early yesterday morning and securing a close spot to the entance at the beginning of the row, I was surprised to come out of the store and not see my car. It was now in the “third” spot, because the road was wide enough to park two more cars and still have a car width to drive through. Cypriots are the boldest and most creative parkers I’ve ever seen.

    -DeAnn

  8. 8 Jyoti September 13, 2007 at 1:08 pm

    I want red ones, or pink ones. And I think the colour I’d need is pretty similar to the red of your couch.

    Speaking of creative parking. Today I saw my first ever parking ticket on a car parked on a double yellow line since I moved here a year ago. I drive by about 30 such cars without tickets daily. So apparently your chances of not getting ticketed are 1/10950 percent. That’s pretty good!

  9. 9 Lisa September 19, 2007 at 3:58 am

    I’d go to Ikea a lot too if there were one in Manhattan. Of course I wouldn’t be able to take advantage of the free babysitting.


Leave a Reply

