The Imitation of Christ

To add some Christian classics to my reading list I(DeAnn) have started “The Imitation of Christ” by Thomas a Kempis.  I have always been intimidated by it, but since I just finished “Celebration of Discipline” by Richard Foster and found it to be great (and easy?) reading, I thought I might as well give it a go.  Right now I’m on Book 1, section 4.  That might not seem like a lot (the intro was very long) it has been a lot of information to take in and meditate on.  Here are a couple of quotes:

“If the eternal Word speaks to a man he is delivered from many conjectures.  That one Word is the source of all things, and all things speak of that Word.  That Word is the Beginning, and that Word speaks to us.  All understanding and all right judgement are derived from him.  When a man sees all things as that one Word, refers all things to that one Word, views all things in that one Word, then he can be inwardly stable and rest at peace in God.”

“We do well to believe less than we are told, and to keep a wary eye on our own impulses; whatever it is, we should think the matter over slowly and carefully, referring it to God.  Unfortunately our weakness is such that we are much more ready to believe and speak evil of others than good.  Yet perfect men do not lightly believe everyone who chatters to them, since they know that human nature is weak and inclined to evil, and very easily betrayed into slips of the tongue.”

 I can see why this book is a classic. 

What are you reading?

3 Responses to “The Imitation of Christ”


  1. 1 Chris & DeAnn October 1, 2007 at 7:29 pm

    I’m also reading “The Pickwick Papers” by Charles Dickens(for the last year), “Letters of the Queens of England” edited by Anne Crawford (for the last month) and “Water for Elephants” by Sara Gruen (which I started today.) I can’t seem to stick to one book at a time.
    -DeAnn

  2. 2 Chris & DeAnn October 4, 2007 at 8:14 am

    I just finished “Water for Elephants”. I found it to be predictable. It was written well enough, I guess, but it wasn’t thought provoking. Have any of you read it? I like to know what you thought.
    -DeAnn

  3. 3 derk October 14, 2007 at 8:32 pm

    I love St. Thomas a Kempis. The Imitation has been one of my favorite since i was twenty. I have a version that is illustrated by Dore. Beautiful. The neat thing about this book for me, is that it is more benificial if you read it at different times in your life. Like the Bible, and all works by great saints, such as “interior castles,” or the “story of a soul,” as you gain new experiences, maturity in age, new obligations, desires, or fears, this little book seems to have a new emphasis, according to your will, as your heart opens a little more, or if it closes a little more. God has many graces for the reader who opens this book, no matter what place the reader is coming from.
    This is a good, 10 minutes per day, kind of book, because it is really meaty. Sometimes i just skip around depending on what i’m willing to read about, or what i think i need to read about. In that regard, the book brings out a kind of self awareness, toward virtue. Kempis always puts God in the right place, reminding you that your purpose is to be with God. no matter where your heart is at the time.


Leave a Reply

