My Previous Life

Some of you might not know about my life before I met Chris.  I grew up on a cattle ranch in California.  I not only live many, many miles away from it now, I sometimes go many, many days without thinking about my childhood.  I get lost in the busyness of city life and ministry.  But today I was transported back in time. 

This morning at our team meeting I was telling Rick that I’m tired of being asked to do things I’ve never done before and have no clue what is expected or what to expect.  I get a lot of oppurtunities to do new stuff all the time in this line of work and sometimes I wonder what is I do know how to do. 

This evening God reminded me.  I read Rick’s blog, then clicked on a link to a blog of someone that he knows, but I don’t and then from her blog I clicked a link to yet another blog and there it was.  What I know how to do: gathering, sorting, weighing, shipping.  All things you do with cattle. 

http://thepioneerwoman.com/

Thanks God.

(Check out the pictures of the ranch on Flickr.)

6 Responses to “My Previous Life”


  1. 1 Anna October 9, 2007 at 7:28 pm

    I love thepioneerwoman. Now I will think of you when I read her blog. Bonus. Cool.

  2. 2 Marko October 15, 2007 at 6:20 pm

    Meine Grosseltern hatten auch 2 Rinder. In Deutschland ist halt alles etwas kleiner🙂. Die restlichen hatten ihnen nach dem Krieg die Kommunisten weggenommen. Als kleines Kind hatte ich vor diesen riesigen Tieren sehr viel Respekt. In Deutschland denken die meisten Kinder inzwischen, dass Kühe lila sind. Die schauen einfach zu viel Milka-Werbung im Fernsehen.
    Da hattest Du als Kind auf der ranch bestimmt sehr viel zu tun. Wieviel Rinder haben Deine Eltern denn?

    Viele Grüße an euch alle aus dem sonnigen aber inzwischen ziemlich kalten Regensburg. Ich werde jetzt auch wieder etwas mehr für euch beten. Das vergesse ich bei dem ganzen Alltag einfach zu oft.

    Marko

  3. 3 Joanne Ummel October 16, 2007 at 7:49 pm

    Hey DeAnn – I finally found your blog! I had looked for it several times, but I’m not that great on web surfing. It’s great! I’ll be checking back. I’ve been thinking a lot about you guys – SOO glad that Rick is back. That must have been a huge burden to carry on your own. We were and are praying for you all.

  4. 4 Chris & DeAnn October 17, 2007 at 7:23 am

    Thanks Joanne, it’s great to have Rick back. We are still just as busy, but spreading out the responsibilty is good. Monday we started an Alpha course. Chris is a leader and I help with the food. I’m now leading a women’s Bible study that started last night. I volunteer at Guides (British version of Girl Scouts) this evening. Thursday nights are the international student coffee shop and Friday nights are youth group. There certainly is no sitting around and saying, “what am I here for?” The cool thing is that we are seeing people “get it.” Thaks for your prayers and for the mail. I hope your house is coming along and that apartment life doesn’t get to you.

  5. 5 Chris & DeAnn October 23, 2007 at 12:59 pm

    Marko,
    at this point my family runs between 25-30 head of Red Angus and Red Angus/Limousin cross cows. They also have a bull and a varying number of calves, depending on the time of year. When I was a kid, we had many more. At that time my parents raised Simmentals, but as beef cattle, not as milk cows like in Germany. Their cattle are mostly a hobby now. They have a shooting range on the ranch now that is their main source of income. The cattle business is a tough one, always dependent on the weather and the demand for beef.

    Es tut mir Leid, dass ich nicht auf Deutsch geschrieben habe. Ich kann noch Deutsch gut lesen, aber ich habe nicht gewusst wie ich schreiben sollte, um meine Geschichte richtig zu erzählen. Wir vermissen das kaltes Wetter. Jetzt bei uns ist es 26 Grad.

  6. 6 puss in da boots October 30, 2007 at 9:20 pm

    please more on your previous life!!!


Leave a Reply

