More From The Imitation of Christ

“Jesus has in these days many people who love his heavenly kingdom, but few who bear his cross.  He has many who desire comfort, but few who are ready for trials.  He has found many to share his table, but few to share his fast.  Everyone longs to rejoice with him, but few are ready to suffer for him.  Many follow Jesus as far as the breaking of the bread,  but few go so far as to drink the cup of his passion.  Many glory in his miracles, few follow him in the shame of the cross.  Many people love Jesus as long as misfortune does not fall on them; they praise him and bless him as long as they are receiving comfort from him, but if Jesus hides himself or leaves them for awhile, they complain bitterly or fall into great despair.”

I(DeAnn) think Jesus still has people like this in these days.  Unfortunately,  I’m  one of them more often than I would like to admit.  How about you?

7 Responses to “More From The Imitation of Christ”


  1. 2 puss in da boots November 9, 2007 at 5:48 pm

    feels like moment of confession

  2. 3 rickdugan November 12, 2007 at 11:00 am

    That’s good/hard stuff to read. Faith is not about getting what we want from God, but trusting enough to give everything we have to him.

  3. 4 Chris & DeAnn November 12, 2007 at 11:27 am

    Rick,
    I think your last two sermons have addressed this issue as well. It is hard to hear. Especially trials. I have changed my prayer from asking God to remove trials and temptation from life to asking Him to be my strength so I can stand up under them and not fall. He has been faithfully answering this prayer.
    -DeAnn

  4. 5 Joe, Brigitte & Daniel November 21, 2007 at 8:59 pm

    Hi Guys,

    You make us feel a bit guilty, especially as we are about to once again enjoy the feast without the fast. As we prepare for Thanksgiving we fondly remember the ones we have enjoyed with you. We have lots of snow and have already been skiing several times. Also, I got the Zug um Zug expansion set for my birthday so we will be ready the next time we get together. Happy Thanksgiving!

  5. 6 Mom November 30, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    I really had trial by fire this week with GeeGee. Alot of prayer and sadly to say tears got me through. I want my mom back and that is not to be. It is hard on both of us. For her letting go and for me trusting that she will be able to live a life that she enjoys.
    Thanks to all for the prayers.

  6. 7 Chris & DeAnn November 30, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    Mom, thank you for sharing. And I am so thankful that we have Jesus to go through all this with us. I know that He will be faithful. I love you. -DeAnn


Leave a Reply

