A Little Christmas Nostalgia

How quickly time passes.  Today Cami and Aunt Jen(DeAnn’s sister) celebrate birthdays .  Cami is now 12.  I won’t tell you how old my sister is because this is a biggy.  I’m thinking, “How is it that I have such an old sister and child when I am so young myself?” :)  I was thinking of my favorite Christmas song to post on the blog and the one that came to mind is “Little Drummer Boy/Peace on Earth” sung by David Bowie and Bing Crosby.  My sister and I went crazy the first time we saw the video on “Friday Night Videos”.  I always think of my sister when I here it.

The song was performed on Bing’s Christmas Special in 1982.  I’m sure we saw the video either then or the next year.  That year David Bowie (who happens to be the same age as my mom) was 35 (which happens to be younger than both my sister and I are now)  and Bing Crosby was 79.

5 Responses to “A Little Christmas Nostalgia”


  1. 1 puss in da boots December 15, 2007 at 12:23 pm

    talking about years. on Bing’s Christmas Special I was 5 days old🙂

  2. 2 Stephanie July 5, 2008 at 2:29 am

    okay, a little late to comment, but I *LOVED* Friday night videos!! Had forgotten all about it till reading this…

  3. 3 Chris & DeAnn July 5, 2008 at 10:10 am

    Hey, it’s never too late to comment🙂 It’s so great to hear from you. I should be able to answer your email on Monday.

  4. 4 Stephanie July 18, 2008 at 1:46 am

    So, this post started me on a trip down memory lane — and somehow got me hooked on youtube videos of the song and documentaries for BandAid’s “Do They Know It’s Christmas”… oh, it’s so fun to see all those musicians, way back then, many younger than us (33 year old Sting — wow!!), and even Bono before anyone really knew him (he talks about how he only knew Bob Geldof when he was invited to sing).

    Thanks for kick-starting the addiction =P

  5. 5 Chris & DeAnn July 19, 2008 at 9:33 am

    Sorry, I haven’t answered your email yet. I will though. I promise. I checked out the blog from your trip. -DeAnn


Leave a Reply

