New Soul-Yael Naim

Recently we have been hearing this song, “New Soul” by Yael Naim.  It has a catchy tune and a nice video.   The singer is French/Israeli so its a bit difficult to understand exactly what she is saying so I (DeAnn) googled the lyrics. I could relate to some of them.

“I’m a new soul I came to this strange world hoping I could learn a bit about how to give and take.
But since I came here felt the joy and the fear finding myself making every possible mistake”
: I’m actually not sure I’m making every possible mistake, but I know I have made quite a few.  Then I feel myself faced with not knowing the proper way of going about rectifying them.  I wish every culture came with a handbook.

I’m a young soul in this very strange world hoping I could learn a bit about what is true and fake.
But why all this hate? Try to communicate finding just that love is not always easy to make”
: I haven’t actually experienced any hate since coming to Cyprus and I do love the people here, but it isn’t easy deciphering what is the truth and what they are saying because it is culturally appropriate.  And am I communicating God’s love to them in an understandable way?

“la-la-la-la-la-la-la-la…” : God continues to be God and bless us in ministry.  We have relationships with many different people from several different countries.  We play together, laugh together, cry together, do life together.

Leave a Reply

