Learning Greek

This morning was my first class of Modern Greek II at Americanos College.  I never took Modern Greek I so I was a little nervous this morning.  But God is so gracious.  It seems that the international students don’t come to class the first couple of weeks, so I ended up having a hour and half private lesson.  The teacher took me through the first 2 chapters of the book.  The class is actually on chapter 20 so I have a lot of catching up to do, but the teacher assured me that my previous knowledge of German will be a big help and I shouldn’t have much trouble.  I also have a friend to help me. 

Learning German was relatively easy.  I had taken two years of it in high school and with just two months at the Goethe and the help of friends I was communicating pretty well.  But now I am 4 years older and closer to 40 than 30. I have had no previous Greek.  I’m interested in seeing how my brain handles it.

1 Response to “Learning Greek”


  1. 1 Puss in da boots February 14, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    German and English come from same branch.. so that was relatively easy. Your brain could find similarities in words and grammar..
    Greek is another song!! :)) BUT the more you know languages the easier is to learn another one!
    YOU CAN DO IT!

    am proud of you🙂


Leave a Reply

