Camellias

When Chris and I bought our first house in Bakersfield there was beautiful, old camellia bush by the corner of the porch.  Grandma Erma loved it.  I did too.  I can hear her now saying how beautiful it was.  We only lived in that house 2 years, but the camellia was one of my favorite things about it. (The other thing was the grapefruit tree.)  The next owners of the house decided to take out the camellia and put in a palm tree.  I cried.

Now I have a camellia in a pot on the patio.  It is small, but beautiful.  When I look at it I always think of my grandma.  I miss her.  She is still living, but, at 82, she isn’t the same.  She lived around the corner from that house and used to come over all the time to visit and help me with the kids.  Now she lives in assisted living.  I hope they have a garden there with lots of camellias (and roses.)

(I put some pictures of my camellia on flickr.)

4 Responses to “Camellias”


  1. 1 Mom March 7, 2008 at 2:48 am

    I miss her too. I went to see her today and she said that she had dreamed that you had come over for a funeral. She said that she hoped it was for her and not one of the kids.
    I brought her some macadamia nuts from Hawaii covered in chocolate. She said that she used to buy them at the store. She said that those were not covered in chocolate. She does remember that.
    She said that she and Aunt Esther were talking about all that they had done in their 82 and 84 years.
    She is again trying to crochet but even with the pattern, is not remembering how to do them. She has made so many, but the ability to make more is not there.
    She says that all she does is eat and sleep. I thank God that she does not miss all her stuff and old life. He readies us for all the seasons of our lives.
    Your blooms are beautiful.

  2. 2 Josh Hawkins March 15, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    Your camellias are lovely. I am so glad you were able to grow them and remember.

  3. 3 Tara July 15, 2008 at 4:10 am

    DeAnn,

    I was just thinking about your G’ma Erma the other day. I’m readying some things for the baby we are expecting and was admiring the gorgeous crocheted blanket she made for Rocklin with his name on it. I was thinking that she probably wouldn’t be able to make one for the next one and that made me sad. I still miss G’ma Pearl and think of her so much and my heart is with you as you watch another grandmother fading down the same path.

    I love you and miss you. Hope you are all well.

  4. 4 Chris & DeAnn July 19, 2008 at 9:36 am

    Cami is in Bakersfield right now. She Grandma Erma is mostly the same only she repeats herself a lot. I don’t think she can crochet anymore because she forgets to count her stitches and it doesn’t turn out right and makes her upset.


Leave a Reply

