Driving in Cyprus

One of the biggest hurdles I had to overcome in moving to Cyprus was driving.  We were here three months before I was brave enough to get behind the wheel.  First of all, the driver is on the other side, so everything is on the other side (except the foot pedals, thank goodness.)  Still after more than a year of being here, I am sometimes gripped with feeling that I am going the wrong way on the wrong side of the street.  I am very thankful that has not been realityso far.  But I have also gained a lot of confidence and freedom in driving here.  Lets just say traffic laws are more of a recommendation (except for talking on a mobile phone while driving, which I learned first hand, unfortunately.)  I’m surprised that there aren’t more accidents.  Its like everybody understands that everyone else will be pulling out into traffic, running red lights, driving down the middle of the road parking where ever their car will fit.  So, I decided to write about all this because the other day I hit a driving in Cyrus on the other side of car milestone.  I parallel parked on a street in the old city.  I was so excited that I was successful that we took pictures.  Check it out on flickr.

4 Responses to “Driving in Cyprus”


  1. 1 Mom April 25, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    That is a great accomplishment for someone who couldn’t miss the oil house and fence post! You’ve come a long way baby!
    Thanks again for the pictures so that I can see the kids.

  2. 2 Andrea April 27, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    Funnily enough one of my first driving experiences in Cyprus was also learning, first hand, that cellphones and driving are an illegal combination in the country. Luckily I talked him out of giving me the 50 or 100 pound ticket…🙂

  3. 3 Aunt Jen May 4, 2008 at 8:08 am

    My only question is–why is your car facing the opposite direction from the other two cars that are parked? Is it okay to park any which way in Cyprus? I do have to agree with Mom that your driving skills have improved tremendously!

  4. 4 Chris & DeAnn May 4, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    Believe it or not that is a two lane road or at least traffic can go in both directions on it. But, in general, it is ok to park any which way.


Leave a Reply

