Guides

One of the things I(DeAnn) do but haven’t written about here is Guides, which is the British version of Girl Scouts. I’ve been volunteering there every Wednesday for the entire school year.  Always short of helpers, Kath, the Anglican Dean’s wife asked me if I would volunteer to just at least be there so they would have enough adults present to hold the meetings.  So I said I could do that. 

I wasn’t sure what to expect.  These girls are from the wealthier British ex-pat community and I hadn’t had any experience with them.  But girls are girls all over the world.  And these are no exception.  They have hopes, dreams, struggles, and self-esteem issues.  As I was helping with a craft or activity I found that my main job every week was just to listen.  They needed to tell someone about what was going on at school, with friends, etc.  I have really enjoyed getting to know these girls and will continue to work with them next year.

Last week was the final meeting until school starts in the fall.  The girls decided they wanted to have a Mexican party.  I made refried beans and Mexican rice and helped the girls make a pinata.  They had never heard of a pinata before.  We made one out of paper mache’ and the girls decorated it.  Check out the photos on flickr of the fun. 

 

0 Responses to “Guides”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

